Treasury :: Financial Management Service
Enterprise Data Architecture
Transmission Business Message

Business Message Listing
SummaryBankInfo [1..1]


Contains the ABA Number for an account.

Element Information
The <SummaryBankInfo> element is a child element of the <CollectionReportingClassifications> element. The <SummaryBankInfo> element is the second element under the <CollectionReportingClassifications> element and is a required element.

The <SummaryBankInfo> element does not contain any further nested children elements.

Attribute Information
RoutingNumber[1..1] (([0][0-9])|[1][0-2]|[2][1-9]|[3][0-2]|[6][1-9]|[7][0-2]|[8][0])[0-9]{7}The routing number is used synonymously as ABA routing number and routing transit number. The routing number consists of 9 digits, for example XXXXYYYYC where XXXX is Federal Reserve Routing Symbol, YYYY is ABA Institution Identifier, and C is the Check Digit. The first two digits of the nine digit routing number must be in the ranges 00 through 12, 21 through 32, 61 through 72, or 80. The digits are assigned as follows: 00 is used by the United States Government; 01 through 12 are the normal routing numbers; 21 through 32 were assigned only to thrift institutions (e.g. credit unions and savings banks) through 1985, currently are still used by the thrift institutions, or their successors; 61 through 72 are used for electronic transactions; 80 is used for traveler's cheques. The first two digits correspond to the 12 Federal Reserve Banks. [reference:]

For help, please contact the Treasury FMS Enterprise Data Architecture team.
Last Updated: 2010-01-05T07:06:16.687-05:00